Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

New Officers Installed for the Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley

The Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley held their 39th Annual Installation Dinner on September 26th at 8-Bit Brewery in Murrieta, where they installed new officers for 2017-2018. Outgoing club president, Gregory Kind, who served two consecutive terms in that post, emceed the event, which was attended by more than 70 members, family, and friends, including many who came specifically to honor the club’s incoming President, Tom Teagle. “We have many very dedicated Kiwanis members who devote significant time, effort, and energy in support of Michelle’s Place, the Boys and Girls Club, Oak Grove, Rady Children’s Hospital, Cub Scouts, the Salvation Army, the Field of Honor, LifeStream Blood Bank, the City of Temecula, and other local charitable organizations,” said Kind. “In addition, we raise significant funds to support eleven high school Key Clubs and provide scholarships to students at each high school.”

Lori Butler, the outgoing Lieutenant Governor for Kiwanis Division 37, of which the Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley belongs, was very complimentary of Greg Kind’s service as President, as well as heaping praise on the entire club for their commitment to the mission and ideals of Kiwanis International. She also de-installed the outgoing officers and directors, as well as installed the incoming officers and board members.

Teagle will serve as club president as of October 1, 2017. Additional officers include: Lynn Effinger, President-Elect; James Stead, Secretary; Peggy Moore, Treasurer, and Steve Yung, Assistant Treasurer. Gregory Kind will serve as Immediate Past President. The newly installed Board of Directors include Grant Thurman, Ken Ray, Chuck Skaggs, Dale Qualm, David Gibbs, Debbie Hartman, Paul Rieker, and Rich Connington. Brandy Baez Colon and Paul Rieker will serve as an Alternate Directors.

In addition to the swearing in of officers, Captain Hayes of Cal-Fire, which serves as Temecula Valley’s fire department, accepted the Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley’s Jimmy Moore Citizen of the Year Award on behalf of all those firefighters who help to keep citizens and their properties safe from fire. Lynn Effinger, who also serves as Membership Committee Chairperson, was named Kiwanian of the Year for his contributions to the club’s community service efforts.  The President’s Award was given to Tom Teagle for his exemplary service as a member of the club and for serving as President-Elect over the past two years.

Kiwanis is a global organization of volunteers dedicated to improving the world one child and one community at a time. The Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley is focused on serving the needs of their community with emphasis on children. For information about the Kiwanis Club of Temecula Valley, please visit their web site at, or you may call Lynn Effinger at 951-514-5699.