Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

2015-2016 “Teachers are Heroes” Storm Stadium Celebration

The 2015-16 Teachers are Heroes recipients were honored at the Lake Elsinore Storm on Wednesday, May 18, 2016, during the third annual “Teachers are Heroes” award ceremonies.  The Lake Elsinore Storm hosted the end-of-the-year celebration and provided tickets to the winning teachers, students and their families.

The evening celebration began with a pre-game presentation ceremony on the field.  Michael Jordan, Education Director of Student Placement at Azusa Pacific University (APU) School of Education, spoke on behalf of APU School of Education and gave a wonderful tribute to the honored teachers.  Teachers were presented with a special plaque provided by MVP Studios in Temecula and a Nike duffle bag was provided by APU.

Congratulations to the 2015-16 Teachers are Heroes Recipients!

  • September: Melissa Lowdermilk of Oak Meadows Elementary School, Murrieta
  • October:  Mitchell Brown of Susan H. Nelson High School, Temecula
  • November: Israel Marshall of Rancho Viejo Middle School, Hemet
  • December/January: Jesus Guzman of Erle Stanley Gardner Middle School, Temecula
  • February: Patty Fullington of Rancho Vista High School, Temecula
  • March: Kim Huth of Temecula Valley Charter School, Winchester
  • April:  Andrew Fox of Ysabel Barnett Elementary School, Temecula

Teachers are Heroes is sponsored by APU and KATY-FM 101.3, The Mix.  The Teachers are Heroes recognition program is a way for parents, students, and the community to show their appreciation to a teacher who has played a special role in a student’s life.  The kick-off for the 2016-17 Teachers are Heroes program will begin August 2016.

For more information visit: